top of page

Orientation Week: Breckenridge, Colorado

Travel Day: Saturday, August 19th, 2017

Data Centers to Mountain Ranges and Trees

I said goodbye to my sweet family and headed from Virginia's data centers to Colorado's mountain ranges!

Day 1: Sunday, August 20th, 2017

My First Colorado Hike

Today, I embarked on my first hike! It was difficult, because I am still adjusting to the new altitude of Colorado, but it was wonderful! Every step brought me closer to one of the most beautiful mountain views I have ever seen! It made me think about this gap year, I will be moving forward- and sometimes it will be rocky and I may stumble or I'll be uncomfortable because I am in an unfamiliar environment, but I have to hope and have faith that the view ahead- the relationships,

makes every obstacle worth it. Also, these obstacles are natural and reveal my fears.

Psalm 145:14

The LORD sustains all who fall And raises up all who are bowed down.

Day 2: Monday, August 21st, 2017

Maroon Bells: Magnificent and Breathtaking

Today, we drove and hiked to Maroon Bells. The two hour drive was beautiful and full of mountain landscapes and trees.

It was magnificent and breathtaking, the pictures speak more than I could write. God filled this world with wonders for us to enjoy, and I loved seeing this the Maroon Bells.

Psalms 89:11

The heavens are yours, and yours also the earth; you founded the world and all that is in it.

Day 3: Tuesday, August 22nd, 2017

Exploring Breckenridge, Intro to Philadelphia

Today, we hung out with Mr. Deke and I went to the Crowne for coffee with friends!

Day 4: Wednesday, August 23rd, 2017

Today, we learned about how our time in Rwanda, Uganda, and East Africa will be spent! We Skyped with Mr. Justin Ngoga and I enjoyed connecting and learning about this part of my journey!

I am blessed to go to my hometown!

My mom is from Uganda and my dad is from Kenya and my parents raised me to love my East African roots! This will be my first time coming home since I was three and I am very excited to come home! I heard that we will be in Mbarara and that is my mom's home town and she was wondering if you grew up there too

Day 5: Thursday, August 24th, 2017

Today, I was reminded about the important truth to love God, love others, and love yourself. Mr. Andy Braner taught us this lesson and about how its about loving God, others, and yourself as a dance and keeping Jesus at the center of it all. Matthew 5, 6, 7

I enjoyed dwelling on the fact that everything I do should glorify God! Following Jesus starts when we "confess with our mouths and believe in our hearts"

Jesus is universal, He knows our hearts, not our outward appearances.

In the evening we had a cookout at the Braner's house and had a campfire where we shared our stories. I enjoyed sharing about my experience as a and a portion of my story of my father's descions this previous year.

Day 6: Friday, August 25th, 2017

Today, we went over the book When Helping Hurts and learning about reflecting on the past, and moving forward.

We also went to St Mary's Glacier!

My prayer for the year is for The Lord to "move me like you do the mountains"!

Day 7: Saturday, August 26th, 2017

Today we went over what we will be doing in Israel, Palestine, and Jordan with Mr. Luke! I am excited for this month long adventure!

Tomorrow morning we leave to Philadelphia!

 

Maroon Bells, are two peaks in the Elk Mountains, Maroon Peak and North Maroon Peak. Located in Colorado.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page